Pope's College – Sawyerpuram – Thoothukudi,

National Assessment and Accreditation Council



The Thoothukudi - Nazareth Diocese is a diocese of the Church of South India in Tamil Nadu state of India.The Diocese is one among the 22 dioceses of Church of South India in India.The Cathedral of the Diocese is St. John's Cathedral at Nazareth, Tamil Nadu. Thoothukudi - Nazareth Diocese was bifurcated from Tirunelveli Diocese and was formed on 25 October 2003. 2006–2013: Rt.Rev.J.A.D. Jebachandran2013–2017: Bishop-in-charge, Moderator: 2013–2017: 2017–present:Rt.Rev.Dr.S.E.C. Devasahayam.
Engineering Colleges

1. JayarajAnnapackiam CSI College of Engineering, Nazareth
2. Dr.G.U. Pope College of Engineering, Sawyerpuram

Polytechnic College

1. JayarajAnnapackiam CSI Polytechnic College, Nazareth

Arts Colleges

1. Nazareth Margoschis College at Pillaiyanmanai, Nazareth
2. Pope's College, Sawyerpuram
3. Bishop Caldwell College, Thoothukudi

Nursing College

1. CSI St. Luke's College of Nursing, Nazareth

Teaching and Education Colleges

1. Rev.John Thomas College of Education for Women, Megnanapuram
2. R.M.P C.S.I P.S.K Rajaratnam College of Education, Sathankulam
3. Dr.G.U. Pope College of Education, Sawyerpuram
4. St. John's Teacher Training Institute, Nazareth


1. Higher Secondary Schools - 21
2. High Schools - 6
3. Middle Schools - 70
4. Primary Schools - 243
5. Special Schools - 2


1. St. Luke's Hospital, Nazareth
2. St. Luke's Leprosarium, Peikulam
3. St. Raphael's Hospital, Sawyerpuram
4. St. Barnaba Hospital, Nagalapuram
5. Diocesan Mission Hospital, Thoothukudi

Industrial Training Institute

1. Art Industrial School ,Nazareth